The Valken Alloy PDW AEG

The perfect milspeed companion

Last weekend I had the pleasure of testing out my new Alloy PDW from Valken and I have to say, this gun is awesome! As a primarily hi-capa user, I almost never carry a rifle. I find them to be bulky, heavy, and hard to maneuver around tight corners. However, this was not the case with the Alloy PDW. Right out of the box, the gun felt extremely solid. No wiggling or loose parts, making me feel like the gun was ready to handle the abuse I was about to put it through.

 

20170915_195055
Closeup of my Valken Alloy PDW at N1 airsoft field.

The rifle features a full aluminium receiver, with top rail for scopes, combined with a CNC aluminum free floating Key Mod hand guard. The hand guard also features small picatinny rails on the front left, right, and bottom to mount any compatible lights, lasers, or foregrips. I used mine to mount a Valken VGS foregrip and flashlight which worked great for my CQB style play. The rifle also comes equipped with two flip up sights and I LOVE these things. They can either be flipped up to give you the full range of the sight or they can remain down and give you a low profile style “iron sight.” I find that the flipped up mode works better with my dye mask, however, for you all you milsim’ers out there, having the sights down gives you a far better ability to zero when not restricted by a full face mask.

Now when I first picked up this rifle, it was a bit heavier than what I was used to. As a primarily pistol player, I am used to only holding a gun with one hand while I negotiate different types of cover and obstacles. Nevertheless, the PDW surprised me again when I was able to one-hand it with ease despite being a full metal AEG. The operation of the gun is just so smooth, being able to transition the gun from one hand to the other, while its compact design helped greatly in close quarters situations. The six position collapsible stock worked perfectly in this regard. I was able to adjust the stock to better suit my gameplay on the map, whether it be close quarters or long distance style shooting.

 

IMG_0249
The Valken PDW is so light, one-handed operation is a breeze.

The trigger response on the PDW is amazing right out of the box. No matter how fast I pulled the trigger, the PDW kept right up, showering my opponents with bbs. The micro switch trigger system was key when running through speedsoft style fields like N1 and Combat Center at Hollywood Sports Park during my weekend of game play. Even at high rates of fire, the 300 round hi-cap flash magazine that came with the gun fed flawlessly. At no point during my weekend did I have any feeding problems with the PDW. It truly held its own on the battlefield. Its high rate of fire and quick trigger response could only be matched by its precise accuracy. Since the PDW comes standard with a tight bore 6.03 mm inner barrel, you can zero in on your opponents with ease and make precision shots.

The battery compartment for the PDW is located in the little stubby stock tube, which can be easily unscrewed. It can be a little tricky at first to fit a battery in with the limited space, but I found that the Valken 7.4v 1000mah stick Li-Po works the best. Its a tight fit, but once it is hooked up and ready the rifle can go all day on a fully charged battery.

If you can’t tell already, I absolutely love this gun. There is a link down below to the Valken Alloy PDW page if you want to look at the full specs or pick one up yourself. You will not be disappointed! I have also provided the link to the battery I recommend for the best fitment with this rifle. Happy airsofting!

Links:

Valken Alloy PDW

Valken 7.4v 1000mah Li-Po Stick Battery

2 thoughts on “The Valken Alloy PDW AEG”

Leave a comment